Knitting … now onto oven mitts!

By late spring of 2010, I had made several pairs of socks, some mittens, a winter hat, 2 animals for my grandson.  Then one day a co-worker talked me into walking (further than I wanted to walk) to another yarn store in our town.  I found some sock yarn that was different than what I had in my stash.  As I was at the counter paying for it, I noticed a display that looked like a mitten.  It turned out to be an oven mitt–felted from a bulky wool.  I fell in love with it.  Needless to say I returned to the store and purchased yarn,

Blue Oven Mitts for a cousin

needles and pattern–and then more yarn several times over the next few months.  I had found a great item to knit as gifts for everyone.  My family and friends usually do not exchange gifts for holidays or birthdays.  I do like to give consumable gifts if I find something I think my friends would like.  This is a perfect gift–practical and

Orange Oven Mitts for my son in NYC

decorative.  So I made them for all 4 of my children and then started ones for my friends.  These will keep me busy for awhile.  They are fun because they work up fast and you can be very creative with the coloring.  I have enjoyed giving these as gifts–for no occasion at all.

 
This entry was posted in Knitting, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment